Dual boot UEFI Windows 10/Linux Mint 19.3 system

After 2 years without Windows, I decided to assemble a desktop with dual Windows 10 / Linux Mint 19.3 boot. I remember making Windows/Ubuntu dual boot system was a pain in the ass since UEFI replaced good old BIOS; but times changed, and I was surprised how smooth and easy is making UEFI dual boot system now.

I used ASUS PRIME 365M-K motherboard for my desktop; I think all modern ASUS motherboards have the same UEFI support.

You install Windows 10 first. I used brand new HDD, and I allocated half of HDD for Windows and left the rest of HDD unpartitioned. Windows created several partitions in the allocated area, the most important for dual boot is EFI partition which Windows labelled “System” or like that; it will be relabelled as “EFI” subsequently by Linux Mint installation program.

Now you install Linux Mint 19.3. When asked how to install Linux Mint, I have chosen default “Install alongside Windows” option. This is a preferable option unless you want a third system on your HDD.

If you google “Dual boot Windows Ubuntu UEFI” now, you probably find recommendations to disable Secure boot and do other strange things. I believe this staff is outdated for modern hardware and latest Ubuntu or Mint versions, and all you need is just run installation programs.

One thought on “Dual boot UEFI Windows 10/Linux Mint 19.3 system

  1. I too have found this to be true. I have been pure Linux for about two years, but found I could add Mint 19.3 to notebooks very easily with windows 10 already installed. I rarely boot into windows anymore, have switched to using Lazarus, but now can at least have both on a single system for …just in case.

Leave a comment